Best Lighting regimes

I have a question regarding optimum day length at an indoor grow.

Thinking of using 12 days with an additional 6 hrs of night interruption as I’ve always felt plants need some down time to conduct metabolic processes and 24 hrs of light does not allow for that.

Also, since my background is in ornamental production, I have a question about the Flowering ie. Blackout, Short days, Light dep. etc…phase. I hear people saying you need 12/12 days to flower. However, in my experience with Chrysanthemums which are a light sensitive crop, transition form vegetative to reproductive growth occurs when the day length is less than 12 hr…

Therefore we will give the plants 13 hr of darkness. This helps ensure that all the plants will transition at the same time and initiate flowering uniformly .

I would appreciate some advice on this in case I’m off base.
Thank-you

3 Likes

The 24 hour light question is a common debate in this industry, but I believe most of us who are educated on the topic would say to give 6-8 hours of dark in veg for respiration, cell elongation, etc. For flowering - 12 hours of an uninterrupted dark period has been fine for every strain I’ve grown or heard of. You’ll miss out on some valuable photosynthesis if you go any longer.

3 Likes

David,

Yes you’re correct to note that plants need a minimum of 3 hours of darkness, and as much as 6 hours for veg. As for your photoperiod, yes a longer night will help uniform flower initiation like chrysanthemums. This may come at a cost to production, as that 1 hour is 8% of your lighting time, still, a stronger signal could result in more flowering.

Any questions about lighting feel free to reach out to us at LumiGrow, we work with growers experienced in all types of crop production.

Best,
Brandon

3 Likes