Growers Network was created as a resource for adults in the cannabis industry.

Please verify your age to enter.

Bugs 🐜 ffs shiny leaves?

Have some plants about 2 weeks into flower. I noticed shiny patches on the leaves and some have these small stupid brown and white bugs crawling on the underside of some of the leaves

I’m thinking thrips, not sure though any ideas? Or what is the fastest way to kill these little bastards?

Don’t have pics right now.

4 Likes

I had a similar problem. Got rid of it using insecticidal soap. I don’t think that would damage the flowers, but personnally I would wash the harvest. Jorges Cervantes has a nice how-to video on washing the harvest on YouTube. I am not 100% sure if my solution is accurate. Hope this helps.

2 Likes

Broad mites

4 Likes

Hard to give great advice untill i can see a pic:) im a thrip pro haha if u show us some pics i can tell u if it’s thrips or spider mites or something else;)

6 Likes

Where do these things come from? Indoor grow tent :tent: perfect looking plants then noticed leaves looked like they were having some nutrient deficiencies on some lower leaves slight slug or shiny looking patches. Didn’t have time to take pics as I’m going away for a couple days. I have a digital microscope.

Also what’s best method to kill them?

1 Like

Thrips make your leaves shiny… @Packee got rid of them earlier…

1 Like

They are common for indoor growers. More often then not. We bring them into our grow. Sometimes they just find their way in.

6 Likes

@fusiondesigner predatory bugs are my first choice

But I have used Avid Spray as well, it’ll do a variety of pests, but only in veg. 1 spray, lights and fans off, every 2 weeks. Make sure you wear ppe when using

Cheers

Packee

2 Likes

Here is the culprit! I pulled it’s head off after this photo was taken.

Update: one plant seemed somewhat resistant? Any ideas on that? It was also the tallest and stronger phenotype, so maybe that is why.