Dehumidification

Hello,

My name is Walter Stark. I am a mechanical engineer designing Climate Control systems for Cannabis facilities. My company manufacturers Dehumidification and temperature control equipment for Cannabis facilities and must rely on growers for the information need to properly design a mechanical system.

Growers typically give us irrigation rates in gallons/day and we then need to divide this between day and night use in order to properly size our dehumidifier. We have been assuming a day/night split in the rate of transpiration to be 90%/10% but there are indications that night transpiration may be higher. If anyone has data to support the actual water usage, we are all ears.

Also, we offer ourselves as a resource to anyone seeking information on Climate Control for Cannabis facilities.

Walter Stark
Cannabis Climate Solutions
Div of MSP Technology
ccs@msptechnology.com

1 Like

I do not know the split percentages, but I can know anecdotally that the night transpiration is fairly high. During late flower I will dial our humidity down to 40%. I use 2 Qwest 150 and one Qwest 155 for 72 plants in a 1,200 sqft room with 8.5’ ceiling. Daytime while a/c is running, there is no problem keeping the humidity down, but when lights go out and a/c isn’t cycling, the humidity will peak at around 60% even with the 3 dehuys running full-tilt.
Hope this helps.
Greg
Utopia Gardens

4 Likes

Thank you Greg

1 Like

Hey Walter,