Get to know the community - Anne

In this issue of our interview series we get to know @anneface011389 and how she found her way into the cannabis industry.

Tell us a bit about yourself

I currently reside in Phoenix, Arizona and I work for an indoor growing operation. I’m originally from northeastern Missouri where I grew up on a farm. My father grew soybeans, corn, alfalfa, oats, wheat and clover. We also raised hogs until the market crashed in 1994, and we have cattle to this day. We also grew a large vegetable garden every summer and spent plenty of afternoons canning and drying food.

I lived on the family farm until I went to study photography at the University of Central Missouri in Warrensburg. My daughter was born in my 3rd year of college. I graduated after 5 years of coursework, and afterwards I obtained a position at the Kansas City Botanical Gardens in their greenhouse division.

How did you get your start in the industry?

After attending college for a couple years and feeling totally lost and on the verge of quitting (my dad strongly discouraged this decision), I went to visit my brother in Washington and my experience was a real eye-opener. I hadn’t ever traveled before, nor had I really gotten to know my brother. After I returned from Washington, I realized that I was taking my career path way too seriously and making it more difficult than it should be. I stopped and asked myself, “What do I love or enjoy the most?” After some serious thinking, I realized that cannabis was the one thing that came to mind.