Lighting questions

Hey there, I’m just getting started in the grow show world and I’m looking for some lighting advice. I’m going to be stepping up from a 30"x30" tent to a 10’x10’ room. a “friend” of mine who is a little head of me is pushing hard for me to buy the iluminar il9x 1000w LED’s… now these are not cheap lights and i don’t mind paying the sticker price if they are the “best of the BEST” like he is saying.

How ever like i said I’m relatively new to this so i have some concerns and questions:

1. how good are these light actually? (I’ve been unable to find much in the way of reviews)
  2. as a “novice” grower is there a better option or will these light help compensate for my inexperience?
  3. is there a more cost effective LED solution that i should go with? (I’m aware a $50.00 1000w LED light off amazon is not going to be as advertised but i can buy 4 decent 250w lights for less then this one at 1000w)

i guess at this point i should also mention i am an electrical contractor so the wiring and setup portion doesn’t really effect my decision.

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum.

Let me say first off that there is no one set solution. There are a hundred plus threads on here that discuss lighting.
We normally have one thread that we journal our grows in and others comment. We do have chit chat areas. you have to look at the subtitle of the section to know.

And with that, a quick education in weed grow lighting. By the time you absorb this, you will have the understanding of how the light affects the plant and what you need for best results.
You will need a quantum light meter.

4 Likes

so as im researching this more and more, ive narrowed my choices down to either the HLG-650R or the ROI-E720. any input or advice on which way i should go or is it all subjective?

4 Likes

650r is a superior light. @automatik and @pptrsha1. Both use them and have great grows.

U would need 4 for a 10x10

5 Likes