8x16 Gorilla Grow Tent Op advice

Hello fellow growers,
I would like to ask your advice on a new op I’m starting. I will be using an 8x16 gorilla grow tent. I would like to use 8 600w aircooled vivosun lights in my tent. Does anyone know if these are decent lights to use for a startup? Also, I plan on using 2 ac units and 2 dehumidifiers to help cool the grow room along with intake and exhaust fans. Will this be efficient enough to cool the tent? All info would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you,
Passion Budz

2 Likes

In my personal opinion that seams to be sufficient. Although I’ve never ran a grow that big. Could you exhaust the hot air from the lights into a different room or outside? That will help a lot with your tempature and may just have to run 1 ac unit. You would be using about 40w a sqft so that should be ok. You’d need 10 lights to achieve 50w/sqft.

1 Like

And welcome to the forum! You’ll find a lot of great professional growers here. I’m just a beginner but have been kicking ass so far.

1 Like

Thank you sleeperjunky! I really appreciate your input and welcoming. The hot air from the lights will be cycled directly outside the tent. I really want to use 1,000w lights but am afraid it will be way too hot so I’m going to start with 600w.

1 Like

Have you thought about using leds? That would help on heat and electricity.Expensive upfront, but in the long run it pays off.

2 Likes

4 HLG550’s will cover that, or 4 Rapid LED 4x4 fixtures will cover that. Timber grow lights has LED’s already assembled for you.
I have the Cree Rapid kit, grows well In a 4x4. Highly recommend it, if you can do a little wiring. Which isn’t hard. + to - .

2 Likes

I don’t think I have the funds to come up with the LEDs I want. There like a grand a piece!

4 Likes

Welcome to the GN family @passionbudz.
Hope you learn as much as we do here.
What strains are you looking at growing?
What is your growing medium or what will your growing style be?

1 Like