Anyone here have experience working security at grow facilities?

I am taking a position providing armed security at marijuana grow facilities in my area. I have no shame in admitting I know nothing about the production of marijuana nor am I a user although I do fully support its legalization. My question is can someone give me a quick generic rundown of daily operations at your average facility and what threat level are they facing? I’ve heard they are having a lot of issues in our area and instead of hiring your average guard or moonlighting cop they are willing to pay substantially more and go through companies such as private security firms and military contracting groups that offer highly trained individuals. Is the threat level these facilities face really that severe to the point its necessary to have such individuals providing security or are they just being extra cautious operating under the it’s better safe than sorry mindset? My background is special forces and state police SRT with a few tours overseas as a military contractor so working in a hazardous environment is nothing new to me I am just genuinely curious. Please don’t take this the wrong way either I’m not saying this is the case for every facility and for all I know the information I’ve received is totally false but I am just now learning about and getting into the industry so the more I know the better, knowledge is power afterall.

3 Likes

From what I’ve seen most professional operations are fairly secure but I think with such a large value crop it’s always better to be safe then sorry. I hear of alot more robberies ect on the dispensary side of cannabis, ( products are already packaged and ready to go, cash is around and the general public both knows about the location and may be familiar with the layout). In my area they also want a list of employees and their security clearances for liscensed production facilities.

2 Likes