Autos and Photos

I popped a few Autos that a flowering under 18/6 light. The rest of my ladies are Photos and not quite ready to switch to 12/12. Maybe 2 or 3 more weeks. When I do switch will it cause the Autos to herm? They will have been flowering for 6 or 7 weeks by then. Or should I just wait to switch until after the Autos are done?

3 Likes

Changes in light schedule shouldn’t hurt your autos, but fewer hours of light may reduce your yield some.

7 Likes

Excellent! That is what I was hoping.

3 Likes

I am brand new to growing! I now have three 2 gal pots each with an auto seedling in my 2.3 x 2.3 tent. That’s what I am doing with the exhaust on, circulating fan on and one vent at the bottom open. RH is 50 and temp is 75F. Are you ok with 24/0 lights? I’ve heard they don’t need a rest but some people disagree. Thanks! (See my journal for more details! Any advice welcome!!!)

1 Like

Welcome to a new, all consuming (<- that is a pun right there) hobby/lifestyle!

A friend of mine only grows Autos and runs his light 24 hours a day. He gets decent but not spectacular results but everyone else I know of (a very small sample admittedly) give them some rest hours every day.

3 Likes

So do they do any better than the 24 hr grows? (with 4 hours of rest)

1 Like

I really don’t know. Like I said it is just one guy who happens to do his light 24/7 with no dark. There are too many other variables in play to make any statement about one method being better than the other.

Running the lights around the clock just feels a little intense for my sensibilities. I am a more relaxed “everybody needs a little rest now and then” kind of grower in training. I might change it I see evidence that it helps dramatically. I just have a feeling that if it worked really well many more people on this forum would be doing it.

Just my $.02

4 Likes

:point_up_2::point_up_2::point_up_2: This right here :point_up_2::point_up_2::point_up_2:

4 Likes