Burned and dying - help

Hey everyone,

This is my first time growing and I already killed 2 plants, my thumb is not as green… so it would be special if this one didn’t die, and this is my last hope. THANK YOU in advance for your help…

This is Larika, she was doing fine until I noticed the fungus gnats infestation. I found a root cleaner and did the process and every since then she is not the same anymore. I washed the soil with tap water to take out the poison and on the next day i reintroduced some nutrients. From my research, it seemed like I’ve added a lot of nutrients, so I watered twice after that and she won’t get better. Now it seems like she is dying AND the damn gnats are back. I am afraid of doing the root clean again because this was what caused all the trouble in the first place. What to do next? What am I missing here?

12 Likes

Almost seems maybe too much watering in a way but in a way it may not be enough. It does appear to have some big markings on leaves for what my eyes can see. What exactly r u feeding the plant and how often and do I pH the feed before u water the plant ??

3 Likes

Ecological Laboratories Microbe Lift BMC (biological mosquito control) 2 fl.oz. | eBay

microb lift

this is what i use. one drop per gallon when watering. i do this consistently to stay on top of the gnats.

10 Likes

Nice tip… I think this plant is basically dead, so I’ll keep this is mind when trying again, thanks

8 Likes

Welcome to the forum! I was wondering how often you feed and water your plants? Over watering or under watering could be the issue and cause the gnat problem.

10 Likes

@nacho151 , well spotted. Welcome to GN @mmizz . I personally would cut all the rotting leaves and stems back, and lay off watering for a couple days and see if it bounces back.

10 Likes

@nacho151 @chrisj Heyyy thanks for the welcome!!!