Cannabis Licenses Not Turnkey in California

If you are considering the purchase of real estate in California for use a licensed cannabis industry business, you need need to be aware that licenses are not transferrable.

Just for perspective, I am a CPA with thirty-seven years in practice and >40 cannabis licensees in Humboldt County and extensively engaged with the cannabis regulatory agencies and CDTFA. At the present time, as the factual statement, cannabis licenses whether temporary or annual are NOT transferable. There is NOTHING in the regulations or anything that we have seen anywhere in an official source that offers any prognostication on transferability. I can pretty much repeat word for word what John Ford or Michael Richardson with Humboldt County Planning would say about the topic as well.

You may very well be proven correct some years from now, but anyone considering the purchase of property needs to be aware that at the present time, there is no such thing as “turnkey” cannabis licensing in California. If you have doubts about my background with this please look at my profile.

Let’s be very clear, I doubt that there is anyone that wants all of this to succeed more than we do. However, having seen numerous situations repeated over and over again when we have to explain to the purchaser that they have to start the licensing process from scratch, PLEASE CONSIDER CAREFULLY PROVIDING AN ACCURATE UNDERSTANDING OF THE SITUATION TO PROSPECTIVE PURCHASERS.

Just so there is no question about the veracity of what I am stating, here is another well-known attorney stating the same thing. California Cannabis: Scams and Schemes of the Week, Part 3

There is a difficult balance to be had here…that between the efforts to help sellers of property, and the needs of purchasers that may not have the knowledge to understand what they are getting into.