Cannabis Research Scientist Intro

Hi all,

I’m a plant scientist in the Los Angeles area doing research on cannabis tissue culture and genetics (mostly hemp for now, but hopefully marijuana in the future). I’ve been browsing around the conversations here and it seems like y’all have yourselves a pretty great community.

The cannabis scene is still pretty new for us scientists, most academic labs are still afraid of getting involved but that’s starting to change now. I just wanted to let everyone know that I’m here and if anyone has any questions regarding cannabis plant science don’t be afraid to ask.

Cheers,
Lorenzo

9 Likes

Thank you Lorenzo,

Have you seen any chimeric properties from tissue cultured Cannabis? I am using tissue culture propagations now and have not but I am mad curious.

Bradah

4 Likes

I’m not 100% sure what you mean by ‘chimeric properties’. In a plant science context a chimera refers to a plant which has 2 or more distinct genomes within the same plant.

Usually, every cell in an organism has the exact same genes, and differences between organs and tissues (eg roots vs leaves) are due to how those genes are expressed. In a chimera, the plant has different DNA in different parts of the plant. There are a few ways that this can occur, the two most common are from grafting and from badly-executed genetic engineering.

If you’re just doing tissue culture propagation, you shouldn’t have any issue with chimeric plants. This is because there is no source of ‘foreign’ DNA which could lead to differences in genetic code between cells. Every propagated plant has just one ‘mother’, so they should be pretty much genetically identical. This has been my experience with tissue culture propagation of cannabis.

-Lorenzo

4 Likes

I found this when researching TC (see link below). I was curious if you had ever seen this before. I believe your answer say you have not; and that is the good answer I was looking for.