Cloning in Rockwool Cubes

I know I started a topic on cloning before, however I have more specific questions this time.

We have changed out cloning techniques. We were originally using EZ Cloners(aeroponics). The res contained a mild nutrient solution (EC: .7-.9, pH: 5.8-6.1). The clones were cut and usually ready to plant within our scheduled time of 17days.

Now we have switched to rockwool cubes in a flood tray system. The res is filled with a mild nutrient solution. (.9, 5.7) We have a water chiller and a UV filter, the soultion is aerated as well. I do a partial change of the res every week. Generally the water solution is at 68 degrees.

Bear with me, I am new to rockwool.
Upon taking cuttings, I soak the cubes for 30+mins in the solutions, pH’d to 5.5. I use a gel hormone dip.
I have taken cuttings and put them directly into the system to be irrigated once a day.
I have also taken cuttings and put them in a tray, domed, both on a heat mat (at varying temps, from 75-80 degrees) and off of a heat mat. After a week of being domed, vented slightly, I have put them in the system to be irrigated once a day.

The rooting time has increased by a week. It’s literally taking a month to see roots poke out the bottom of the cubes. Certain strains, the leaves turn yellow, and look poor over all.

I was hoping to shorten the rooting time but I have added a week to it and overall I wouldn’t say the clones have improved any.

Any tips/pointers would be greatly appreciated. Increased irrigation? Temps? Less frequent irrigation?

Thank you for you time!

4 Likes

Hi Anne,

Thank you for the question.