College Graduate Seeking Advice on Out-Of-State Job Search

Hello!

I am a recent graduate in Mississippi. I am a hard worker, a fast learner, and I have a strong desire to relocate within the United States to work in the legal cannabis industry.

I have been looking at job listings, but I have been hesitant to begin applying, as the majority of these listings include requirements for the current possession of MED, OLCC or other licensure.

What is the best way to pursue employment in the cannabis industry for the out-of-state candidate? Am I better off ignoring these requirements and submitting applications, contacting companies directly, …?

Thanks for sharing your thoughts,

3 Likes

I know our OLCC Worker Permit is $100, pretty steep to purchase on a whim. The processing time on a license is about 2 weeks. The state has gone back and forth on applicants being allowed to work before being officially permitted. I am sure all of this varies by state.

If you have a specific skill set, such as mechanical engineering (did you get any process engineering with that?), you’re most suited job market may be hash production.

I’d start with cold application calls/emails. Try to be specific with what you can bring to the table as an engineer.

The overall job market in Oregon has had a pretty big glut of hopefuls. One avenue that has gotten solid workers permanent jobs is through cannabis friendly temp agencies. Great workers don’t last long at the temp agency, while average workers get stuck there doing remedial labor.

Perhaps focusing on states that are about to go legal would be most beneficial?

Just my 2 cents from Oregon.

Good luck to you!

4 Likes

Hey Chris!

Here’s my AZ advice: