Cultivation in the Caribbean

Hey Folks! The name’s Theo and I’m currently researching about commercial cannabis cultivation as I hope to join the upcoming legalized industry in the Bahamas. I have some experience with indoor Dutch Bucket hydroponic cultivation as I lived in Michigan for a few years and curiosity got the best of me. Now I’m trying to learn about outdoor soil cultivation as that will likely be the best option for me when I start commercially. Anyone have any advice or protocols on outdoor soil grow for regions like the Caribbean (salty air; high humidity, heavy sun)? Maybe South Florida growers? I would really appreciate any input.

4 Likes

SoFlo here… growing outside down here is just a constant humidity battle as you probably are well aware of. I grow every summer and always say I won’t do it again. I already put 2 in the ground so there goes that promise. LoL indoors is just a must full year. I just dropped this Vida on Monday. Hasn’t stopped friggen raining yet and it’s gonna get a bit windy for her with this storm Tuesday. She’s still doubled in Size with constant rain…

Nice to meet you btw and welcome to GN …good luck with everything!

6 Likes

:joy: I love it! I’ve never grown in the Bahamas but I’m curious about others experience with similar areas. Would you mind if I followed/liked you and ask your advice from time to time?

3 Likes

I believe there are Bahama Growers here. I haven’t heard from them in a while. @chrisj you remember who they are?

3 Likes

Well I know of a grower who supposedly moved from the states to the Carribean to grow. But I havent seen him release this information ( and its his news to share, not mine.) So I cant say. But SS and Loco, u boys both know him.
Theo, Im in Central Florida. I agree with Loco. The rainy season is a challenge.