Does a Grower Need to Create a Brand? Thoughts?

With so much supply in the marketplace and unpredictable demand, how do you feel about the importance of building a strong brand?

3 Likes

It’s a tricky question. I guess I would answer with a few questions. My background is from a regenerative farming prospective that is a do less enjoy life more perspective.

That being said. What do you want to do with your time? There are a lot of opportunities to harness your existing skills and strong points. Also how much money do you really want to make?

Big brands aren’t started by newbies whom have growing experience. Even the best growers will fail to market big brands without the correct suppport.

In Washington we have seen the majority of growers start a brand and struggle to do it all. Branding, marketing, sales, packaging, etc all big work.

I’ve always enjoyed the idea of craft products. I would personally rather spend more time making everything really nice, and sell a small amount to a few stores. It’s just me and my wife so we don’t need or want to be billionaires. We just want to grow our farm restore the environment and enjoy what limited time we have to do so.

another great opportunity is wholesale growing. You may have to grow more than you would on the craft level. But you don’t have as much involvement.

I will run a mixture. I am marketing my small craft brand, based on numbers that I have previously been able to accomplish. I know I can grow, package and distribute around 50lbs a month. So I will stick with that each store will purchase a about 3lbs per month of mixed flavors.

The rest I will fresh freeze. I will then start making ice wax and marketing that. But 70% of my crop I will wholesale at a very affordable price. I want it sold so I can use the revenue to re invest.