Fertilizers in your Grow

What do you uses as your fertilizer source for your Grow? Please give some detail.

What do you grow in soil, soil-less compost or hydroponics variations.

What is your biggest concern about nutritional product evaluation?

From the voices in my head
Ethan

4 Likes

This question is as personal as choosing your socks in the morning!

I prefer organic sources and building coco-based super soils using natural amendments, adding worm castings rich in fulvics and humics, with perlite or hydroton for aeration. I can brew teas occasionally to incorporate more microbial life and additional NPK and follow that with microbial and enzymatic inoculations. I have found the key to success with these soil blends is TIME. After mixing a coco blend, I like to give a good, long rest period (like two or three months). The cool aspect about this process is I can cleanse and re-use my medium indefinitely. I have been using my coco blend for over three years with no degradation or phytotoxic effects. The teas are cheap and easy to brew.

6 Likes

My only problem with tea is scalability and the extra work I have to do to trirate my tea to know the big 4. NPKCa.

I reused our hydroponic base for seven years. Just had to be washed once a year.

As you know I like less moving parts. My perferd mix for soiless is metromix 510. For Canabis I would most likely use 510 with juveniles and my finish pots metromix 810 nursery mix. Really good for big plants.

Plants will grow to the size of the container. It is my second favor natural growth regulater and probably my first choice for canna. I don’t want any stress or until I decide.

I only have one big problem is coco fiber in the mix. It plays havic as a nitrogen sink in the grow. The coco fiber is trying so hard to break done it hold some of the nitrogen we feed. Basket growers have seen this for decades.