Flip to flower

Hey everyone, I want to flip to flower soon and have been wondering if there is anything I should be doing beforehand. I have seen many pics of some heavy defoliation, comments about 24 hours dark before hand. Is there anything I should be doing with my nutes? Continue veg nutes or change to flower nutes?
I’m completely new at this and I’m trying to study up and learn what I can about growing.
Little bit of info:
Fox farm coco loco. Fox farm nutes. 5x5x6 tent with a spiderfarmer sf4000 light.
What works for you guys?

4 Likes

Welcome @tipsappreciated typically I personally start to defol about 2 weeks after I start seeing the first pistils but only some fan leaves at first but alot of growers do this differently… The 24 hours of dark is usually implemented right before you do your actual harvest I wouldn’t do a 24 hour dark period till then… As far as nutrients once again I don’t start using flower nutrients till I see the first pistils showing… Flipping to flower is pretty much decreasing to a 12 on 12 off light schedule which helps the plant start the flowering cycle but a good veg is key to good flowering you want lots of bud sites first… How long have you vegged for?

2 Likes

Welcome to GN @tipsappreciated, you’ll find plenty of answers here.
But, it would be easier to answer you if you start a journal and ask your questions there. It will be easier for you to keep track of answers and we will not have to give the same information twice. :nerd_face: :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

I’m just saying this because you just started a bunch of threads with questions about the same seed you found and are now growing…

2 Likes

My bad @tipsappreciated, it’s still good advice, but I was reading the post of another new user and since you both had the same questions, I got you mixed up! :man_facepalming:
Sorry !

I can delete my mistake if you feel more comfortable… it was meant for the other user…

I may have medicated a bit much… :rofl:

4 Likes