Get to know the community - Nathan

Here’s the third in our “get to know the community” interview series, where we interview @nathan and learn about his grow operation in Canada.

Tell us a bit about yourself

I’m the founder of the Canadian Cannabis Supply Company, an early stage startup positioned to take advantage of the pending legalization of cannabis in Canada.

We focus on growing a range of cannabis lines for medical and recreational usage as well as developing the vertical market potential with processing for edibles, extracts and more.

I am a 7+ generation farmer from Australia, and a 2nd generation Cannabis farmer.

I have been running a regenerative permaculture-styled farm in Canada since 2009, focusing on organic vegetable production and distribution through community supported agriculture. We also raise around 150 forested free-range pigs. I make great compost and practice growing in an extreme northern climate.

How did you get your start in the industry?

I started in the early 90’s in Australia while studying business & law at university. I spent a number of years working through different points in the illicit production and distribution supply chain until I was finally offered a 10,000+ plant jungle operation and had a moment where I realized I was about to go down a very deep rabbit hole.

I pivoted and used all the street smarts and networks to setup a web startup and rave warehouse in the late 90’s which ultimately led to me becoming an e-business and startup development consultant. I wore a suit for many years and tinkered with personal growing and breeding.

I ended up moving to Canada after marrying a Canadian and returned to farming after the last economic meltdown. We built a solid following for high quality local food, which has logically extended to include cannabis.

How do you grow?

We grow outdoors, with greenhouse assistance, and indoors.