Greenhouse VS Steel Building for Commercial Cultivation

I have been doing research (including watching a lot of Canna Cribs) to determine what is best for quality, yield, and efficiency. At this point I am ready to make the choice. Leaning towards a fully automated greenhouse, but still open minded about constructing a steel building.

The cultivation side of the facility will be about 30k SQFT.

Does anyone have thoughts on this?

3 Likes

Are you sure you need that much area? Have you established your production goals yet? My job is to squeeze as much capacity into commercial buildings as possible, so depending on where you are in your process, we can help make sure you are investing in the right places. We design and build hyper-efficient shelving systems. I have been doing this for a couple decades now and many industries - not just cannabis - often overestimate real estate requirements. Many think it’s impressive to build as big as possible. We often forget that building smaller is better for the environment in many ways; less building material, less fuel trucking it in, less energy to run, more open space, quicker trips for staff to get from point A to B, less space to clean (cleaning products!) etc, etc. Not saying you should skimp, but aim for peak efficiency.
If you haven’t already, consider taking time to work on some drawings. They make a giant difference in the early stages, I can’t recommend focusing on them highly enough. It’s not just for architects anymore, you can do a lot of it during early planning. Start with a basic block sketch, then fine-tune each of those blocks with accurately measured equipment, supply, and plant requirements. Once you establish those basic space requirements you will be able to conceptually understand what you really need to realize your longer-term vision.