Hempy Buckets: A Safe and Simple Alternative for the Disabled Grower

hermpy1
Posters note: I noticed that not much is written here about Hempy buckets and since a big part of my grow journal here features them I thought I would reprint something I wrote for my site for growing with disabilities. In any event I figured even normal folks could always use an extra techique to keep in their mental back pocket; they sure have allow me to keep growing long after I would have been forced to stop using more traditional methods. With that, on with the show…

Greetings Kids, Jeff here with a little life lesson…no matter what to do or how you are set up, if you have a degenerative disease, there will come a point where the more sophisticated and high-production methods become too much and you are faced with that or giving up growing entirely. In point of fact, I am at this point myself…when I first started growing with the idea of growing while disabled in mind I studied as many different methods of growing as I could find, just to have as much fundamental knowledge as is possible. Hempy buckets are an older method of growing going back quite a ways…I looked at these a few years ago but could not figure out how to make them work with the rest of the system I had designed and was working so they just became interesting ideas.

Well now that I am struggling my good friend and grow mentor reminded me of these…I had to do some refresher work but realized these could be a good middle-ground between struggling with a bigger system and giving up everything. At their heart, Hempy Buckets are a very very simple design that blends hydroponics and soil growing. To make a Hempy Bucket you just have to take any bucket-shaped container, drill a 1/2 inch of better hole a few inches from the bottom and presto, you have a Hempy Bucket. The rest is how its used:

Basic Hempy Bucket Design