Hydrocarbon vs. Supercritical Extraction

I’m more of a grower and haven’t gotten into the particulars about extraction, but I often get asked by customers what method of extraction should they invest in. I’m sure each have their pros and cons, but is the industry trending toward one type of extraction? And if so, why? Can someone better explain the benefits and drawbacks of each method?

3 Likes

following this topic, great question. Love learning.

2 Likes

The general sense I’ve gotten is that most people who want clean extracts prefer supercritical or rosin press extraction.

Hydrocarbon is easy to do, but the extractors I’ve spoken with feel it’s less safe overall, for both the consumer and extractor.

1 Like

I have @SHOproducts Rosin Tech Pneumatic Single Ram and it is one of the most welcome additions to my setup. I’m still learning and playing with temperatures and pressures (that’s code for: I love pressing rosin and that’s a great excuse to press often!)

It’s very clean though and the smell/taste is bar-none some of the tastiest stuff you’ll ever experience.

If you’ve never pressed fresh rosin from dank buds on a super cold, winter day and had the pleasure of smelling those terps releasing into the air, it’s like smelling fresh ground coffee beans and the roast that follows. The first disappointment of pressing some amazing looking buds and getting a small return. The first victory of pressing something you didn’t think would produce and seeing a FLOWING river of rosin gushing out. It’s something to experience for sure.

From my limited experience with it (in disclosure,) I’d say the time factor is probably a drawback (it takes time to press, even with larger plates.) The yields, from what I’ve researched, are some of the lowest compared to other extraction methods. Not sure how rosin tests out for potency compared to other extraction methods for the same weight of material, etc.