Learning about Delta 8 please help

I’m new to Delta 8? I live in Indiana and nobody really knows anything about it here. All I find on Google search is all basically the same sales pitch that everyone is using but I’d like to learn about how to tell quality Delta 8 distillate oils dabs buy appearance Clarity color? Along with lab work any input would be awesome from anyone thank you very much

2 Likes

Hi @leighd8

We are all new to Delta 8 and a good question. I think the sales pitches are overkill these days, organically grown pesticide free blah blah. COA is what you are looking for, and any good company would share this information with you the buyer. I found a good article below and especially the comments:

Beer-Lambert Law

To break this down quick and dirty, you need to focus on three of the letters. A, C, and L.

A = B * C * L

Where:

• A is the absorbance. You can think about this as a measurement of light blocked.
  • B is a property of the compound using a specific color
  • C is the concentration of the compound
  • L is the path length or total distance light travels through this substance.

Comment by author below
I have heard the appearance of pink or purple distillate is due to the pH.

Generally, “water clear” distillate is made using the use of some acid activated media. The media used works well at “bleaching” the crude or distillate. It works in several different ways, and often a combination of different types of media is used.

Delta 8 THC is made by the use of some acid. Whether you use an acid directly as a reactant or use some acid activated media, the relative acidity/basicity of your THC will be altered.

What I am getting at is that the creation of delta 8 THC is often just an indirect consequence of using techniques to improve the color/clarity of the oil. Originally people were just remediating their otherwise less valuable product and getting delta 8 THC as an unwanted product.