Lighting: LED vs HID vs Sun etc

I would be interested to hear other professionals thoughts on different lighting systems.

We run a primarily outdoor and greenhouse operation but have some smaller indoor rooms. Some with LED (Marspro II) and some with HID - we are testing these more for off season production and mother plant and clone preparation for outdoor and greenhouse deployment in spring/summer.

We are developing plans for an integrated greenhouse (3000 sq+) with assisted lighting. Here in Canada we can have some pretty poor runs with the sun (there were 50 hours of sunlight in the last month for eg) for about 4 months of the year.

Has anyone else had experience with deploying a large assisted lighting system? Reflections on energy usage? Light spacing. What has worked and what has not worked so much?

4 Likes

I’m not an expert by any means, but I’ll relay the information I’ve gleaned from interviewing several growers:

• Many growers feel that LEDs are almost to the point where they’re comparable to HIDs in terms of PAR output. That said, their cost is still significantly higher, so many don’t see them as worth the cost yet. You could balance that against the greater efficiency of LEDs and reduced heat output (significantly lower AC costs). You’ll have to balance initial costs versus ongoing costs.

• HIDs (CMH for veg, HPS for flower) are the standard of the industry currently. A lot of people I’ve interviewed use Gavitas. For clones and seedlings, a lot of people use T5s or T8s, due to their lower intensity.

• Not many growers use greenhouses/natural sun currently, but as the prices of cannabis go down, we may see that change. The operational cost of using a greenhouse will be much lower over time when compared to an indoor grow.