Moving Between States with Reciprocal Med Cards

My family and business are moving from California to Arizona in a few weeks. We have a good amount of weed from the six plants we grew (we probably have about 6 oz left) this fall, and we’re wondering if we’re allowed to bring it to AZ with us. We have medical cards, and I know that Arizona and California cards are reciprocal, I’m just not sure how the whole “crossing state lines” thing affects it. Does anyone have any info on this topic?

2 Likes

I’m not a lawyer so take this with a grain of salt but you still likely would fall under Federal guidelines if something were to happen to you involving the law since you are crossing state lines. If you’re near a border, even being close to the border can put you under border control regulations if you’re being stopped for whatever reason. Not sure if Johnny Law is on your side with this one. “Well officer, it was legal weed when I BOUGHT it.” :rofl:

Maybe other more clued in members can respond with more accuracy but seems like a status quo with the fed/state lines being involved.

3 Likes

Disclaimer: this is NOT to be construed as legal advice.

Any time you and your cannabis cross state lines (medical, recreational, or other), you are in violation of (at the very least) interstate commerce laws, as well as a plethora of federal laws; thereby giving jurisdiction to any federal authority you may encounter on your journey. I know this sounds crazy and ludicrous, and that’s because it is. As Jeff Sessions will gladly remind you, cannabis is still federally illegal. Even traveling with your weed from rec state Oregon to rec state Washington technically is a violation of federal law… it just boils down to enforcement. Is a Trooper in Washington really going to ask you point of purchase for your container of chronic?