Powdery mildew

Hi. I’ve been growing for over 15 years and the dreaded mildew has found me. Any cures? Ideas? No chemicals.
All help appreciated

2 Likes

Make sure your plants have adequate calcium and silica throughout their development. Strong leaves and stems help keep issues to a minimum. Common practice to treat powdery mildew on greenhouse cucumbers is to spray the affected leaves daily with water. Seems counter intuitive, I know. Below is an excerpt from a disease and pest management textbook.

Spraying affected cucumber plants with water every two to three days will control powdery mildew.
Plants should be sprayed in the morning, so they can dry in two to three hours. This prevents infection by other disease-causing
organisms. Fogging considerably reduces disease severity.
Other cultural control techniques involve environmental management and sanitation procedures. Greenhouse temperatures
should be maintained at about 21°C by heating and ventilation. Growers should avoid conditions that promote excessive
succulent growth, such as excessive fertilization. Overcrowding, shading and overwatering also should be avoided. Allowing a
period of two to three weeks when the greenhouse is thoroughly cleaned and empty between successive crops helps to prevent a
carry-over of powdery mildew from an infected crop to a new one. Greenhouses and the surrounding area should be kept clear of
susceptible crops, weeds and trash piles.
The amendment of hydroponic nutrient solutions with 100 ppm of soluble silica helps to control powdery mildew. The silica
can be added in the form of potassium or sodium silicate. For effective control, silica must be constantly supplied to the plants.
Silica sprays (1000 ppm) applied to the foliage may also reduce powdery mildew, but the solution must be adjusted to a pH of 5.5
using an acid such as phosphoric acid.