Staggered flowering for weekly/bi-weekly harvesting

If you’re growing indoors, have you tried staggered flowering?
What’s the advantage? what are the downsides?

Since I’m growing indoors, I thought that I would try using a staggered schedule for flowering. I saw something like it for lettuce (or cabbage) in a documentary and I wanted to try it for my plants :slight_smile: I’ve been doing it this way for over 2 years and I’m curious if there’s anyone else doing something similar.

I found that having a calendar handy while planning my schedule to be essential. I’m also using clones of strains I’ve been working with for a while, so I’m not guessing how long a plant will be in flowering.

You’ll need to set up your flowering area so that you can adjust the amount of light as the plants get bigger; so either you’ll need to be able to move the plants or the lights.

I’m limited to 8 plants flowering at one time, so I stick with strains that are have a 7-9 week flowering time. My goal is to harvest a plant about once a week, skipping a week when needed, but avoided having 2 ready in the same week; so with that in mind, I tend to focus on my target harvest dates and work backward to figure out when to start a new one.

For me, this works great; I’m not harvesting a bunch of plants all at once and I have a steady supply ready each week.
One of the major drawbacks is that I’m pretty much harvesting a plant a week so that’s always on my todo list… and if something wipes out the entire crop, it’ll take a while to get back up and running at full.

So what do you all think? Am I just eccentric or am I on to something (at least from a hobbyist/personal grower point of view)?

5 Likes