To top or not to top?

Hi guys I’m a newbie. First time I’ve ever grown and I have 6 healthy plants 3 papaya and 3 velvet lushers. They are about a month and a few days… should I top them do they look like they are ready. Should I top or not… kind of scared of cutting the plants obviously but any advice is great thanks

6 Likes

It all depends. Do u need to keep them shorter and smaller in height if not I wouldn’t worry and let them go just do some super cropping on them and bend branches open up the nutrients highways if they need to be kept lower in height it won’t hurt and u may be able to possibly get away with plopping the top cuts in the soil and hope they root it’ll give u a couple few more plants. Being outside tho if ur not worried on height I’d let em go beat of luck to ya man

6 Likes

Hi thanks for the advice! No I have no reason to worry about the height at all. I have six plants so I was thinking maybe 3 topped and just let the other grow untopped.does topping really increase the yields …how do you feel about the pros and cons

6 Likes

I’ve done it both ways and had good results with the growth. It seems whatever you pinch it or top it you end up getting two more in place of the one.

Just make sure you keep the inside closest to the main stem clear to maintain a good air flow. Air flow is important!

7 Likes

I see a great learning opportunity here. I wouldn’t top them quite yet. Maybe another week. But I think you should top one of each strain. This way you will see the difference between topping and not topping on your first grow. this is a great Learning opportunity. You should take advantage of it. :+1:t3::v:t3:

7 Likes

I like it . Side by side and see.

6 Likes

I top everything except autos. Two heads are better than one. Still working on my fimming technique because four heads are better than two. I’ve had success a couple of times. I personally have topped up to three times. I’m sure people have done more.

7 Likes