Anybody Pressing Rosin?

Thinking about pressing sugar leaf and kief. Would like to know what kind of yield can be expected from each and also best press configuration - plate type & size?

7 Likes

I’m not experienced in rosin pressing, but I would like to learn more as well.

Adding onto your question, what companies are making the best quality rosin presses out there? Which companies are most popular and why?

4 Likes

@tasiakelle Do you use Rosin presses?

2 Likes

Nate, I’ll Let you know how it goes. We are purchasing a Sasquash Press this week and will be giving it a shot.

4 Likes

Looking forward to hearing how it goes. Post some pictures once you’ve had a chance to try it out!

2 Likes

9 Likes

We got the Sasquash in today. Will keep you posted on how the pressing goes!

4 Likes

That is a nice looking machine! How much force does it exert to press the rosin?

3 Likes

What pore sizes do you use?

1 Like

Thanks Nicholas. From the information that I have gathered, you want to
pre-press at 10 to 15 psi and increase up to 110 - 115 psi. I’m sure that
different material i.e.; flower / kief reacts differently to temperature
and pressure. Here comes the learning curve! I’ll keep you posted.

Bart Bennett
Biochron, Inc.
(509) 979-8724

5 Likes

We are going to use 35mu bags for our kief and 120mu bags for our flower. Pressing today!

7 Likes

Best of luck and let us know how it turns out.

3 Likes

Update on the rosin pressing - we pressed 8 bags of “A” bud flower, (each weighing 14g) and 2 bags of kief, (one bag weighing 10g and one weighing 2g). We varied temperature from 190 to 220 degrees f and pressing time from 45 sec. to 4 min. Our “sweet spot” on flower seemed to be at 220 degrees for 2 1/2 min.
Our over all yield on the flower was lower than we had hoped at 12% but the solvent less rosin that we produced is absolutely gorgeous and we will get better. Attached is a pic of the final product.

12 Likes