Bud Washing

I have learned so much on this site but one thing that i have not found is a topic on bud washing. Now is it a new thing or is it old practice? I am very new to growing (still collecting pieces for a new grow room) and want a good game plan in order before i charge into the unknown lol. I see why to do it but would like to hear from other people.

8 Likes

Welcome to the gn family now on your topic I will be washing my near harvest plants this run grown in an indoor 8x4 tent with 1400w of hps but I am washing because I (first time EVER LOL) got powdery mildew that popped up about 6 1/2 weeks into flower sucks but I removed every bit I could find and have been spot treating with h202 and have it under control now but will have to wash the harvest just to be sure have never washed indoor grown buds before but will let you know how it goes

9 Likes

I only wash my outdoor buds.

I use a peroxide: water mix at 1:4 ratio

I use a large tote and after I take off all the large fan leaves and any trim I donā€™t plan on using for edibles I dip the entire plant still on the stalk in the mix and swirl it around like Iā€™m mixing iced tea. Then I dunk it in clean water and swirl it again.

Then I hang it to dry. This removes and nasty stuff that lands on it including bug poop, dust, dirt, spider webs, larvae, and any other yuck I donā€™t want to smoke. Indoors I only wash if I have a pest or if I were ever to get mildew like the OP mentioned.

It preserves the taste and trichs and some even claim it brightens their profiles.

Good luck farmers. Grow on

10 Likes

I wash whether indoors or out. I have done the peroxide method, but I usually use the pidgins420 wash because I have lime or lemon juice on hand already.
5 gal gets 1 cup lemon & 1 cup baking soda. Same tea swirling and dunking directions above

8 Likes