Help with 6,500sqft grow space design and HVAC/ Electical

Hi all,

I’m new to the industry and growing, and have been drafting my plans for a 6,590sqft cultivation site. I am requesting a review and advice for my layout and plans. Currently, I have received an estimate from an HVAC tech with experience in the industry, he advises that we install about 53 tons (642k BTU) HVAC via several mini-split units. The cost is $87,000 for Daikin low-ambient mini splits with wind baffles and wall hangers and an additional $12,000 installation cost.

We’re running high performance LED that runs at 636w/ 3amp on 208v (our bldg is 120/ 208v with a 833a transformer on-site), which are expected to produce 2,700 BTU/ LED.

Our expected load is about 1200a, however we will be using a 12/12 cycle for flower to lower the draw. Planning to have a 1000a main installed once the feeders are increased from the transformer to the main. Then, my plan (waiting to hear back from the electrician) is to run sub-panels to each room. Probably some 125a and 200a to the three largest rooms. Any suggestions?

3 Likes

@bullfrog420 @PreyBird1 @hoppiefrog

2 Likes

Is the building already laid out as you have it drawn, or are you planning on building the walls?

1 Like

this is how it is currently built

1 Like

I have enormous amounts of experience in what your wanting to do. Theres a couple things to consider. If your new to this and have never grown large scale then you mite want to reconsider things. Like CO2 for instance. I know experienced growers who have trouble using co2, and then top that with it running in multiple large rooms. Your humidity levels will be altered a lot, depending on if you use a gas burner or food grade co2. Lots of humidity in and out, your equipment is super important here.
How tall are your ceilings going to be in there? This is also a huge part, as well as the location or height of your hvac gear.