Plain Potting Soil for Seedlings

Hello–My first post. :slight_smile: I got some seeds today and they are soaking at the moment. Does anyone have a recommendation for a plain potting soil to start the seedlings in? After they grow for a week or two, my plan is to transplant into Fox Farm Happy Frog Potting Soil. I am going to keep them outside in either 2, 3 or 5 gallon fabric pots.

This is my first time growing-all new to me.

Thanks in advance.

Ed

6 Likes

Anything that is not amended, or very lightly amended, but if i remember correctly the happy frog can be used for seedlings, just not ocean forest as its too hot, don’t quote me on this as I’m a coco grower.

8 Likes

Welcome to the Growers Network. You can run happy frog for your babies. You’ll need to feed within 3 to 4 weeks.

You want to maintain a good watering cycle, you don’t want the peat to dry out to much. It becomes harder to water but you can rehydrate and water as normal. Don’t let it happen alot.

6 Likes

Welcome to GN! What’s the largest metropolitan city you live near? Trying to figure out how much sunshine you could be getting!

3 Likes

Thanks for the welcomes everyone! I am about 90 miles north of NYC. The seeds are now in wet paper towels-White Widow and Key Lime Crush.

3 Likes

I hate to be that guy but I think it might be a little late in the season to be starting outside that far north. I’m in Ontario about 3 hours north of Buffalo and my outdoor is starting to bud pretty good. I’m not saying it’s not possible but with fall fast approaching it could affect yield.

4 Likes

I was afraid of that. I may spring for grow tent-not sure. If I started outside would putting them in a grow tent half way through cause a problem?

2 Likes

foxfarm light warrior is my fav seedling soil so far. i have used 5 diff ones and foxfarm wins. happy growing! :green_heart:

2 Likes

Thank you for the tip on the plain soil.