Newbie here ... trying to germinate ten year old seeds LOL

Hi! Really looking forward to hanging around on this site. I’ve already done a lot of helpful reading.

I’m up here in the PNW. My hobbies are watching wildlife (salmon, deer, raccoons, squirrels, etc.), gardening (veggies, shrubs, flowers - both annuals & perennials), reading, and more. My career is library based, but I lost my job due to Covid. So, now, I garden. A lot. I have over 90 tomato plants alone - really, tomato plants …

Because of my newfound time, I’ve really gotten into it and have started a small grow room, with shelving, lights and heating mats. I remembered that I had a whole bunch of old beans and am on my second round of trying to germinate them. The first batch (white paper towel pics) didn’t take, but I threw them into medium anyway, just to see. The second batch seems to be taking (brown paper pics). I started both in a shot glass of water. I added a few drops of hydrogen peroxide the second time. Then I moved them to the paper towel era. Some have sorta germinated but don’t seem to be more than a tiny white blob on the end.

Tomorrow I plan to get some good soil and move the germinated seeds into seedling trays with the soil, all on a heating pad. I’ll add lights when I see green.

Anyway, that’s me … there’s more, but I’ll leave it at that for now.

Warmly, Samantha

9 Likes

Welcome to GN! Hope you enjoy your time here!

Give this a shot. Soak in 3% hydrogen peroxide with no additional water for an hour, rinse and then do as you will, paper towel, soil, coco or whatever.

Some people here like to use fulvic acid or seaweed on their seeds. If you do use it, wait until after hydrogen peroxide.

9 Likes